Nina Scholars Advisory Council

The Advisory Council consists of an innovative team of ASU faculty, staff and leaders from the broader community.

The council provides support to the Nina program staff as well as the scholars. Each member of the council brings a specialized area of expertise and resources that support scholars and that create a strong, collaborative relationship between ASU, the program and the broader community.

The Advisory Council meets quarterly during the fall and spring semesters to discuss how to move the program forward and participates in many other Nina Scholars events and initiatives each academic year.  

Current Advisory Council members

Courtney Agelastos
Scholarship Coordinator
ASU Foundation for a New American University  
courtney.agelastos@asuep.org

Therese Aguayo, MEd
Director, Academic Services
CISA-Academic Advising Services
Arizona State University 
Taguayo@asu.edu

Jaclyn Boyes
Managing Director, Phoenix
Per Scholas 
JBoyes@perscholas.org 

Justine Cheung, MSW
Program Director
Bridging Success 

Watts College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Arizona State University
Justine.Cheung@asu.edu

Paloma Delgado
Coordinator Senior
First Star ASU Academy
Access ASU
Arizona State University  
pdelad1@asu.edu

Kristina Gonzalez 
Program Supervisor 
Hope Foster Care & Therapeutic Foster Care
A New Leaf
kgonzalez@turnanewleaf.org

Renz Narciso
Education Specialist, Maricopa County
Arizona Department of Child Safety
Renz.Narciso@azdcs.gov

 

Genny Malachowski, MSW 
Director of Research and Marketing 
Lively Minds Institute
GMalacho@asu.edu

Laura McBride, MSW
Senior Program Officer
Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust
LMcBride@ninapulliamtrust.org

Leona Morales, MEd
Scholarship Coordinator, Student Success Programs
Maricopa County Community College District
Leona.Morales@domail.maricopa.edu

Ray Ostos, EdD 
District Director for Student Affairs
Maricopa County Community College District
Ray.Ostos@domail.maricopa.edu

Chad Price
Director of Education Development & Disability Resources
Student Accessibility and Inclusive Learning Services
Arizona State University
crprice@asu.edu 

Shelly Smith
ASU Nina Scholar Alumni Representative
sfsmith3@asu.edu

Tiffany Thornhill
Nina Scholars Instructor & 
Program Coordinator, Sr 
Pastor Center for Politics and Public Service
Watts College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Arizona State University
tlthornh@asu.edu