Nina Scholars Advisory Council

The Advisory Council consists of an innovative team of ASU faculty, staff and leaders from the broader community.

The council provides support to the Nina program staff as well as the scholars. Each member of the council brings a specialized area of expertise and resources that support scholars and that create a strong, collaborative relationship between ASU, the program and the broader community.

The Advisory Council meets quarterly during the fall and spring semesters to discuss how to move the program forward and participates in many other Nina Scholars events and initiatives each academic year.  

Current Advisory Council members

Courtney Agelastos
Assistant Director, Scholarship Advancement Engagement and Outreach
ASU Foundation for a New American University

Therese Aguayo, MEd
Executive Director, Academic Advising
CISA-Academic Advising Services
Arizona State University

Zabeba Badada, MSW
Chief Executive Officer, 
Phoenix Health & WellBeing LLC
Business Coach, 
Coaching with Zabeba

Jaclyn Boyes
Managing Director, Phoenix
Per Scholas  

Justine Cheung, MSW
Program Director
Bridging Success 

Watts College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Arizona State University

Paloma Delgado, MSW, MPA
Coordinator Senior
First Star ASU Academy
Access ASU
Arizona State University

Roger Fisher 
Director, Outreach 
Arizona State University

Genny Malachowski, MSW 
Sage Counseling, Inc.

Laura McBride
Senior Program Officer
Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust

Leona Morales, MEd
Program Manager, Sr.
Maricopa County Community College District

Renz Narciso
State Education Specialist, Maricopa County
Arizona Department of Child Safety

Banica Olmeda 
Licensing Worker 
A New Leaf

Ray Ostos, EdD 
District Director for Student Affairs
Maricopa County Community College District

Chad Price, MEd
Director of Education Development & Disability Resources
Student Accessibility and Inclusive Learning Services
Arizona State University 

Yesenia Rivera
Young Adult Program Specialist
Arizona Department of Child Safety

Shelly Smith
ASU Nina Scholar Alumni Representative

Tiffany Thornhill, MSW, MPA
Nina Scholars Instructor & 
Program Coordinator, Sr 
Pastor Center for Politics and Public Service
Watts College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Arizona State University