Nina Scholars Advisory Council

The Advisory Council consists of an innovative team of ASU faculty, staff and leaders from the broader community.

The council provides support to the Nina program staff, as well as, the scholars. Each member of the council brings a specialized area of expertise and resources that support scholars and that creates a strong, collaborative relationship between ASU, the program and the broader community.

Therese Aguayo, MEd
Director, Academic Services
CISA-Academic Advising Services
Arizona State University 
Taguayo@asu.edu

Zabeba Badada, MSW
Scholarship Coordinator, Student Success Programs
Maricopa County Community College District
Zabeba.Badada@domail.maricopa.edu

Justine Cheung, MSW
Bridiging Success Coordiantor 
Watts College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Arizona State University
Justine.Cheung@asu.edu

Jeanne Hanrahan, MEd 
Director of Community Outreach 
University College
Arizona State University
Jeanne.Hanrahan@asu.edu

Dennis Hinz
DCS Education Specialist
AZ Dept of Child Safety
Dennis.Hinz@azdcs.gov

Tom Hutchinson
Director of Business Development
A New Leaf
Thutchinson@turnanewleaf.org

Cynthia Lietz, PhD, LCSW 
Vice Dean, Academic Affairs
Watts College of Public Service & Community Solutions
Arizona State University 
clietz@asu.edu

 

Genny Malachowski, MSW 
Social Supports Manager 
Arizona Center for Youth Resources
gmalacho@asu.edu

Laura McBride, MSW
Senior Program Officer
Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust
lmcbride@nmpct.org

Michael Mendel, MSW
Program Officer
Nina Mason Pulliam Charitable Trust
MMendel@nmpct.org

Ray Ostos, EdD 
District Director, Maricopa Nina Scholars Program
Maricopa County Community College District
Ray.Ostos@domail.maricopa.edu

Chad Price
Director, Disability Resource Center
Arizona State University
crprice@asu.edu 

Sylvia Symonds, MA
Assistant Vice President, Educational Outreach
Arizona State University 
sylvia.symonds@asu.edu 

To be determined 
Scholar Representative
Arizona State University 
ASU Nina Scholars Program